Compare/Oriora Scout vs Perplexity

Oriora Scout vs Perplexity

Scout takes one research question, searches and reads on your device, and returns a short brief with citations you can open. It runs on your own AI key, pay per run. Perplexity is an AI search app with a Pro subscription. Here is how they differ for the job of getting a researched, cited answer, with every claim about Perplexity linked to their own listing.

Written by Oriora, the maker of Oriora Scout. Every claim about Perplexity is taken from Perplexity AI Inc.'s own published pages, linked per row, and was last checked on 6 September 2026. Perplexity is the name of Perplexity AI Inc.'s product and is used here only to identify it.

In short
  • Oriora Scout is a research app for iPhone and the web: ask one question, it plans, searches, reads what it finds and writes a short brief with citations you can open. It runs on your own AI key with no subscription.
  • Scout only cites sources it actually opened on your device, and marks any point it could not source as unverified. Your research history stays on your device.
  • Perplexity is an AI search and chat app with follow-up threads, voice and an assistant; Perplexity Pro is listed at $20 and $200 and Perplexity Max at $200 in-app.

Feature by feature

“Verify” opens the Perplexity page each row was read from.

FeaturePerplexityOriora ScoutHas it
PriceFree download. Perplexity Pro listed at $20 and $200, Perplexity Max at $200, and credit packs from $5 to $100.Prices as listed on the US App Store on 6 September 2026.Verify ↗Free app, no subscription. Each run is billed to your Oriora wallet, and the AI runs on your own key.Different
Answers with cited sourcesYes: "cited sources for every answer".Verify ↗Yes: a brief whose key points cite the sources, with a bibliography you can open.Both
Only cites pages it actually openedNot stated on the listing.Verify ↗Yes. The sources are the pages Scout opened on your device, so a page that does not exist cannot be cited.Scout
Marks claims it could not sourceNot stated on the listing.Verify ↗Yes. A key point left without a source is flagged as unverified rather than presented as fact.Scout
Shows its work while it runsDeep Research mode; steps not described on the listing.Verify ↗Every step is shown live: the angles, the sources found, the phases.Scout
Runs on your own AI keyNot on the listing; it says it uses models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Meta and more.Verify ↗Yes. Your key, your vendor bill; Oriora provides the web search and the orchestration.Scout
Follow-up conversation in a threadYes: "Thread Follow-Ups".Verify ↗No. Scout is one question, one brief; ask a new question for the next step.Perplexity
Assistant tasks: draft emails, book, scheduleYes.Verify ↗No.Perplexity
Labs, Discover feed, sync across devicesYes.Verify ↗No feed and no cloud account. Briefs live on your device and back up to your own Google Drive or GitHub.Different
VoiceYes.Verify ↗Yes: ask for a brief out loud on a live call.Both
Where your research history livesIn your Perplexity account, synced across devices.Verify ↗On your device.Different
Why Scout
  • You want a cited brief you can check, with anything unsourced marked as such.
  • You want to pay per question on your own AI key, with no subscription.
  • You want your research history on your device, not in an account.

Perplexity has follow-up threads, an assistant that drafts and books, Labs, a Discover feed and cross-device sync. Scout has none of those.

Questions people ask

Is Oriora Scout a cheaper alternative to Perplexity Pro?

Scout has no subscription. Each research run is billed to a prepaid Oriora wallet and the AI runs on your own key. Perplexity Pro is listed at $20 and $200 and Perplexity Max at $200 on the US App Store.

How does Scout avoid made-up sources?

It cites only the pages it actually opened on your device during the run, and any key point that ends up without a source is flagged as unverified.

What does Perplexity have that Scout does not?

Follow-up threads, an assistant that drafts emails and books appointments, Labs, a Discover feed and sync across devices.

How this was compared

The Perplexity column is read from Perplexity AI Inc.'s own App Store listing, in-app purchase list and privacy policy, not from reviews or third-party articles, and was last checked on 6 September 2026. The Oriora Scout column is read from the app as shipped. Where Perplexity's listing does not mention a feature, the row says so rather than claiming they lack it. Drafted with AI assistance and reviewed by the Oriora team. If anything here is out of date, write to [email protected] and it will be corrected.