Oriora Meal Tracker vs Cal AI
Meal Tracker logs a meal by photo, text, nutrition label or barcode, returns calories and macros as estimates, tracks your weight trend and reads your week back without judgement, on your device. Cal AI builds a plan from lifestyle questions and reads calories from a photo, sold as Unlimited plans. Here is how they differ, with every claim about Cal AI linked to their own listing.
Written by Oriora, the maker of Oriora Meal Tracker. Every claim about Cal AI is taken from Viral Development LLC's own published pages, linked per row, and was last checked on 6 September 2026. Cal AI is the name of Viral Development LLC's product and is used here only to identify it.
- Oriora Meal Tracker logs meals by photo, text, nutrition-label scan or barcode and fills in calories and macros as estimates, with your weight trend and a plain weekly read-back. No subscription; you pay per AI action.
- Meal Tracker sets no calorie goals and gives no diet advice by design. Cal AI builds a plan from lifestyle questions.
- Cal AI lists Unlimited plans from $2.99 to $29.99 in-app and runs on iPhone, Mac, Apple Vision and Apple Watch.
Feature by feature
“Verify” opens the Cal AI page each row was read from.
| Feature | Cal AI | Oriora Meal Tracker | Has it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free download. Unlimited plans listed from $2.99 to $29.99, plus a Streak Restore at $0.99.Prices as listed on the US App Store on 6 September 2026; durations are not stated on the listing.Verify ↗ | Free app, no subscription. Logging is free; the AI estimates and the weekly read-back are billed per use to your Oriora wallet. | Different |
| Photo of a meal to calories and macros | Yes: "snap a photo of your meal, get your nutritional breakdown"; the listing states scanning results require the subscription.Verify ↗ | Yes, shown as estimates you review before saving. | Both |
| A plan built from lifestyle questions, with targets | Yes: "answer lifestyle questions to build your plan".Verify ↗ | No, by design. Meal Tracker describes what you logged and sets no targets. | Cal AI |
| Nutrition-label scan and barcode | Not on the listing.Verify ↗ | Yes: label read on your device, barcode looked up in open food data. | Meal Tracker |
| Weight log and trend | Not on the listing.Verify ↗ | Yes. | Meal Tracker |
| Weekly read-back in plain words | Not on the listing.Verify ↗ | Yes, without judgement. | Meal Tracker |
| Chat and voice | Not on the listing.Verify ↗ | Yes: log a meal while you cook, on a live call. | Meal Tracker |
| Platforms | iPhone, Mac, Apple Vision and Apple Watch.Verify ↗ | iPhone and the web. | Different |
| Where your data lives | Not stated on the listing.Verify ↗ | On your device, backed up to your own Google Drive or GitHub. A photo sent for an estimate is used to answer and not retained by Oriora. | Different |
- ✓You want a record of what you eat, not a plan telling you what to eat.
- ✓You want to scan a label or a barcode as well as photograph a plate.
- ✓You do not want a subscription and you want the log on your device.
Cal AI builds a personal plan with targets, has a streak, and runs on Mac, Apple Vision and Apple Watch. Meal Tracker has none of those.
Questions people ask
Does Oriora Meal Tracker set calorie goals like Cal AI?
No. It logs meals and returns calorie and macro estimates, tracks your weight trend and reads your week back, and deliberately gives no targets or diet advice. Cal AI builds a plan from lifestyle questions.
Is Meal Tracker cheaper than Cal AI?
Meal Tracker has no subscription; logging is free and AI estimates are billed per use. Cal AI lists Unlimited plans from $2.99 to $29.99 on the US App Store.
What does Cal AI have that Meal Tracker does not?
A plan built from lifestyle questions, a streak, and apps for Mac, Apple Vision and Apple Watch.
The Cal AI column is read from Viral Development LLC's own App Store listing, in-app purchase list and privacy policy, not from reviews or third-party articles, and was last checked on 6 September 2026. The Oriora Meal Tracker column is read from the app as shipped. Where Cal AI's listing does not mention a feature, the row says so rather than claiming they lack it. Drafted with AI assistance and reviewed by the Oriora team. If anything here is out of date, write to [email protected] and it will be corrected.